basementblogs


Sophie Victoria Elliott: Sketchbook Pondering

ImageImage

Catch the train from Caerphilly to Heath High Level.

Cycle through Roath to Milkwood Gallery.

Sit in the basement for hours looking, staring, processing, reflecting and eventually doodling.

I made a concertina of paper so the eventual scale was not considered. The beginning of the paper began with the beginning of my journey; Caerphilly. The images above show sections of the work from the train journey. I am currently finishing the composition for the train journey part and moving on to the bike journeys.

Through doing this seemingly random act of linear brainstorming I have stumbled upon a design for a wall wrap or installation. Once I have finished reflecting on the travel between Heath and Milkwood I will begin to up-scale and transform the basement space. The continual journeys I am doing will overlap on top of the first two, culminating in a visual map of my travels.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

