basementblogs


The starting point
May 15, 2012, 11:05 am
Filed under: Edel Marie | Tags: , , , ,

Engaging and reappropriating  the narrative associated with the female form within the context of the media through the medium of fine art is an area which I have been exploring in various bodies of work in recent years.  During the month of May I will be moving away from my comfort zone of drawing with paint and investigate drawing with paper cuts.

The fetishistic notion of the female form expressed through visual media is being exposed to an ever broadening audience on a daily basis.  The lines between adult content and family viewing become increasingly blurred as the public and private domain mingle and merge into an uncensored, always accessible, alternate reality.  The domino effect from each individual image onto the females who consume and react to them is rapidly starting to percolate into younger and younger generations with personal identities becoming a select section of one size fits all rather then a personal journey where we find out who we are as we live our lives.   

My political stance and opinions on such happenings does not sit comfortably with my lifestyle and day to day choices.  This was highlighted to me while having a conversation with an aunt of mine about her daughter who asked if she could wear foundation to school as she felt self conscious about her skin.  I was horrified at the thought that a girl aged 10 would feel such pressure to look a certain way.  It is easy to blame the usual media, music videos and magazines etc. but in reality I am a role model to this young girl and I never leave the house without a face of make up, and the same can be said for the majority of women that this young girl sees from day to day.  As part of my residence in the Milkwood Basement I intend to explore why I chose to support ideas and concepts in my day to day actions while vocally stating that I am opposed to such behaviour.  I intend to question and explore these concepts and idea through paper cuts and paper chains in a bid to pare back to a bare minimum the imagery that attempts to present an idealised female form.  In past bodies of work I have explored the relationship between fine art and the media as manipulators of the female form though traditional fine art materials, I now wish to utilising a method of making that links to the playground in a bid to highlight similar links but in a different context to the viewer.

Working within the space of the basement is particularly influential in the curation of this body of work.  Firstly I find the basement space in Milkwood to be a very intimate exhibition space which compliments the sensitive and personal nature of the issues that I hope to explore.  Secondly the basement is traditionally where we sort and hide past items, heirlooms and those bits and pieces that we don’t use on a daily bases. 

Lets see what happens over the next few weeks…

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

