basementblogs


The break up
May 15, 2012, 2:26 pm
Filed under: Edel Marie | Tags: , , ,

Starting the residency in Milkwood basement marks a significant change in my life as an artist. I draw and I have always drawn, with paint. I am taking the opportunity of the residency to change the way I approach my work as well as the way I create work. I have always chosen to work with paint as I am interested in the relationship it has with photography and how they have both worked to present manipulated images of the female form.

Exploring cut paper is something I have been playing around with in one way or another for the past few months. The basement has challenged me to really get to grips with how I want to use the language of cut paper to create work. Working in a new environment has been a constructive way to deal with the emotions resulting from my recent break up with paint, a fresh start without the other half of me. Working without paint for two weeks has challenged the manner in which I have been working in ways that I had not anticipated.

How things normally work:

1) I wander around a sketchbook

2) I find some bits of MDF or paper

3) I start drawing

Using this method of working means I am pretty much self reliant and can drawing whenever I like. So creating work for deadlines or exhibitions is only dependant on me. I enjoy organisation, control and being self reliant. Out sourcing does not complement these natural inclinations of mine. When writing my proposal for the basement it was my intention to create some of the work using laser cutters. This involves out sourcing to other people as I do not have the skills or resources at hand to laser cut myself. While in theory this seems like an achievable task in practise the reality has been much more challenging.

Not all of the work is being laser cut so I am currently working on large scale paper pieces by hand in the basement. The solitude of the basement and its lack of acknowledgement for the outside world is something that has complimented the manner in which I am distilling the collages and source images which I am working from. I am attempting to create final images on the cut paper that represent the minimum information required to read the image as a whole.

The language, the materials, the method are all alien. But continuing to cut and transform bits of paper is making me understand how the silhouette and the blank space has been present in my painting and is turning the journey away from paint into a one that shows me greater understanding of the visual elements that I direct and control in my work as a whole.

Photography by Nicolas Copeland – www.facebook.com/Artificial.Images

 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Marie’s residency exhibition open 31st May 2012 @ Milkwood Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Pingback by Milkwood Basement project « KING BLKHRT




Leave a Reply

