basementblogs


August Residency
August 2, 2011, 9:11 pm
Filed under: Heloise Godfrey

 In Hand by Heloise Godfrey

My work is engaged with ideas relating to stories, particularly exploring the body as a site for storytelling. For the basement project I propose to turn the space into a Massage Salon. This is social space which can be as much about storytelling as the laying on of hands. Masseuses I have spoken to talk about a confessional or therapeutic space that is created. I would like to recreate this in the basement over the summer. I will massage volunteers and record the sounds of the experience and the stories they tell. I will also be speaking to other people who use words and the laying on of hands as a means of healing.

I envisage several open days where people would be invited to participate as well as days of editing the footage. Although it will depend on the way the work develops and the way I respond to the space I expect that the final work will be a video and/or sound piece.

Transforming the space into a massage salon.

Recording conversation between client and masseuse

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

