basementblogs


July 26, 2011, 1:48 pm
Filed under: Miranda Vissers

“We stayed in a B&B in the Brecon Beacons and enjoyed the beautiful landscape.

Lush green mountains with flowers and sheep everywhere around us.

It is a bit far from Milkwood, but commuting gave us the opportunity to see more of Wales than staying in Cardiff.

In the first days there was not much time for painting but I did some outdoor projects and collected material to work with next week. The B & B owner generously gave me a whole fleece and a stack of copies of ‘The Smallholder’. So sheep will be a theme that I will be working with.

After four days in the mountains we traveled to the Pembrokeshire coast. A hilly countryside ending in steep cliffs with at the bottom an almost turquoise see.

Between the cliffs there are sandy beaches at low tide, but at high tide there are pebbles and rocks protecting the land from the see.

Pebbles, stones and rocks are rare in Holland but here they are everywhere.

I took some stones with me and gave them a new look.

We had a boat trip and saw thousands of puffins, lots of other birds, seals and dolphins.

I bought some postcards with puffins, and never send the cards. They reminded me of Dieter Roth’s postcards from Iceland. I made him a tribute with my cards.

While staying at the coast side I had more opportunity to do some painting.

Now back in Cardiff, I will try to make some work related to the welsh countryside I saw, and will use some materials that I collected.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

