basementblogs


Miranda Vissers
July 15, 2011, 11:59 am
Filed under: Miranda Vissers

It is quite a challenge, working in the basement of  Milkwood for only two weeks. It doesn’t leave much time to explore Wales and make site-related work as-well. In this short period of time I will be visiting the Brecon Beacons, the Pembrokeshire coast and Cardiff. I’d better start with a good plan and work from there. Since I will be travelling a lot in the first week, not so much work will be taking place in the gallery basement. So I will start by showing some of my Dutch work; created from items I brought from m home in Holland. This will give the viewer an impression of where I come from and how I work.

This work will then be complemented – or replaced by-   work subsequently created while I’m in Wales.

The way my work is created is an organic process. I use photography to document my impressions and these are then translated into forms and shapes which, in turn, create installations.

My installations are multi-faceted and can combine painting, found objects, photographs and collages. I prefer to work with ‘natural’ materials such as wood, paper, textiles and plants.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

