basementblogs


Breaking away…
January 15, 2010, 12:37 am
Filed under: Ben Meredith

During my eight weeks at Milkwood I was making work alongside the Basement Project.  Two of the paintings shown are from this period ‘Alicia At The Beach’ and ‘Boy/Girl’.  At the time they felt like paintings produced ‘on the side’, almost devious.  The freedom to suddenly break away from a constraint (even though it was self imposed) feds into the resulting vibrancy and energy that these pieces display.  They make for an interesting counter point to the darker mood of the work in the Basement whilst retaining values I hold important to my practice as a visual practitioner.  The work and experience of this Residency will feed into the work I continue to make.

Comments are closed.



